What punishment am I facing for a fourth-time DUI?
Notably, a fourth-time DUI conviction in California raises the charge from a misdemeanor to a felony. Nonetheless, our Los Angeles DUI Lawyers point out that penalties only ensue from conviction. Conviction means that you have either entered a "guilty" plea... or been found "guilty" by a jury.
In the case of DUI charges that involve allegations of prior offenses, the prosecution bears the burden (responsibility) of proving they occurred. Failing that, prior offenses cannot be used to increase California DUI penalties.
When convicted of driving under the influence in California for the fourth time, the potential penalties are as follows:
- 16 months, or two or three years in California State Prison,
- between $390-$1,000 in fines,
- a four-year driver's license suspension, and
- designation as a "habitual traffic offender" (HTO) by the California DMV.
While the California Vehicle Code allows all of these penalties to be imposed, our Los Angeles DUI Lawyers emphasize that the maximum is not inevitable. We strongly advise anyone facing California DUI 4th/Fourth Offense Penalties to consult with an attorney as soon as possible.