Menu Close Menu

California DUI Penalties

The penalties for a California DUI can be very serious including jail time, substantial fines, probation, court-imposed alcohol programs, higher car insurance premiums and the loss of employment opportunities.

The Range of Possible Penalties for California DUI Convictions are as Follows:

1st Offense, No prior DUI Offense

  • License Suspension: 6 Months
  • Probation: 1-5 Years
  • Mandatory Alcohol Classes: 3 to 9 Months
  • Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
  • Possible Jail: 0 to 6 Months
  • Car Insurance: Substantial Rise or Termination

Second Offense within 10 years

  • License Suspension: 2 Years
  • Probation: 1-5 Years
  • Mandatory Alcohol Classes: 18 Months
  • Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
  • Possible Jail: 96 hours to 1 Year
  • Car Insurance: Substantial Rise or Termination

Third Offense within 10 years

  • License Suspension: 3 Years
  • Probation: 1-5 Years
  • Mandatory Alcohol Classes: 18 Months (if offender hasn't completed one)
  • Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
  • Possible Jail: 4 Months to 1 Year
  • Car Insurance: Substantial Rise or Termination

Fourth Offense within 10 years

  • Can be filed as a felony
  • License Suspension: 4 Years
  • Probation: 1-5 Years (or state prison)
  • Mandatory Alcohol Classes: 18 Months (if offender hasn't completed one)
  • Proposed Fines: $390.00 to $1,000.00
  • Possible Jail: 6 Months to 3 Years
  • Car Insurance: Possible Drastic Rise or Termination

San Bernardino County DUI Penalties:

The courts and district attorney in San Bernardino County instituted a policy of higher penalties on second and third offense DUIs. Second DUI offenders in San Bernardino County get 30 days jail, 45 if they are still on probation from the first. Third DUI offenders get 120 days jail (the statutory minimum), but 180 days jail if they are still on probation for either of the priors.

NOTE: Any of these penalties may be increased for the following sentence enhancements:

  1. Refusal to submit to Chemical Tests
  2. Probation violations for prior DUIs
  3. Accidents causing injury
  4. BAC over .15
  5. Speeding - 30 mph over speed limit on freeway - 20 mph over speed limit on other roads
  6. Passenger under the age of 14 years old in the car.
  7. License restriction may be implemented in addition to the suspensions

Southern California DUI Defense

Logo_03

DUI cases are rarely hopeless. DUI convictions are almost never inevitable. Clients retain our California DUI defense attorneys for one reason: they want to fight the case. And win.

Contact Us For Help

The police arrested you for DUI. You gave a blood or a breath sample. The DUI officer confiscated you drivers license. The police released you with a notice to appear in court in a few weeks. Where do you go from here? Our lawyers are here to guide you step by step.